Being raised on Star Wars by a props hobbyist and cinema makeup artist, the Star Wars films; Episodes 1-6 will always be of special importance.

Naturally, when Disney (one of the companies I despise most), bought Lucasfilm in 2012 and began its meddling, I was far than impressed. The Force Awakens was one of- if not the worst movie I have ever seen and I had no intention of watching Rogue One.. until recently.

After a few too many, I was pleasantly surprised when curiosity got the better of me and I found myself deeply entrenched in Rogue One.

Rogue One is a gem in the Disney chaos. No doubt it has its flaws but it is good enough to earn a written post and receive several recommendations.

What Rogue One does well opposed to the other Disney rip-offs, is that it isn’t trying to be Star Wars. Rogue One is a movie ABOUT Star Wars, approaching it from that angle dramatically drops the bar of expectations and makes the movie capable of being a stand-alone film written in the style of a fanfiction.

With decent acting chops, a good storyline and a few familiar faces, Rogue One is a movie which Disney will be hard pressed in beating. If you haven’t already (and can stomach a Disney movie), Rogue One is definitely worth your time.