“The music quality of Apple Music was enough to make me switch from receiving premium Spotify for free to committing to buy Apple Music for the foreseeable future.” – Missy.

In 2015, Apple launched Apple Music with a three-month free trial for first-time users. As an avid fan of Apple products, it seemed like a nice addition but I didn’t really do anything about it. Many of my friends tried to convince me to switch over to Apple Music from Spotify raving about how great it was- I wasn’t keen.

For a few years, I have been using a premium subscription to Spotify which I receive for free. Somewhere in Spotify’s system, there is a glitch which has meant that if my card bounces a payment, no follow up charges are made by Spotify and although warnings do appear on random occasion, the service has never been cancelled.

Why would I want to switch over to Apple Music? A paid subscription with no such loopholes where I would be forced to pay for a service. Maybe I’m just stingy but that was my thinking. Why pay for something I’m already receiving for free?

On Spotify I could make as many playlists as I wanted, I could follow any of the artists I wanted and the pre-determined playlists were fairly accurate. As an avid music lover, Spotify seemed perfect, right up until I decided to bite the bullet and try Apple Music.

As an avid music lover, Spotify seemed perfect, right up until I decided to bite the bullet and try Apple Music. Accidently skipping out on the free trial, I signed up for one month’s subscription with the intent of cancelling it straight away and going back to Spotify after the end of the month.

Using Apple Music for the first time was a little tricky but I quickly got the hang of it. Still not convinced of my purchase I compared the two music platforms. I was quickly stunned that Apple Music is 100x better than Spotify.

The biggest difference? The sound quality.
The sound quality on Apple Music is absolutely impeccable and puts Spotify to instant shame. On Spotify all of the music is flat and fails to pick up properly on certain beats, This was most evident when playing Pop or Hip Hop/Rap songs which make up the majority of my music library. In contrast, Apple Music is like what I would imagine a live performance to be. Everything is sharper, the backbeat is more intense, the vocals stand out from the audio better; it’s a 3Dimensional experience.

The music quality of Apple Music was enough to make me switch from receiving premium Spotify for free to committing to buy Apple Music for the foreseeable future.

The second thing I noticed with using Apple Music is that after you get used to how it works, it is a lot more user-friendly in terms of finding music from artists you like. Whereas on Spotify an artist has a small selection of 5 songs which are most popular from any given artist on their page, Apple has a similar collection, except it consists of 20+ of the artist’s most popular hits and is displayed in a far cleaner and user-friendly way.

Although Apple Music does have it’s minor downfalls, for example, you can’t add friends within the app and it takes a little while for Apple to learn your musical tastes, I have yet to find any real major faults with it and sincerely wish that I had switched over to Apple Music sooner.

Apple Music is a must-have for anyone who loves great sounding music which is easy on your broadband data plan. I promise that you will not be disappointed.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 8.21.52 AM.png
3 Months FREE Trial with Apple Music; www.apple.com/music/